Heritage Article:
Recent Heritage Article
Showing posts with label Historical places of Bangladesh. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Historical places of Bangladesh. Show all posts

Rajbari of Natore

Rajbari of Natore

Rajbari of Natore
Rajbari of Natore

Natore Rajbari (also known as Pagla Raja's Palace, Natore Palace) was a prominent royal palace in Natore, Bangladesh. It was the residence and seat of the Rajshahi Raj family of zamindars. Famous queen Rani Bhabani lived here and after the death of her husband, expanded both the estate and the palace.

Rajbari of Natore
Rajbari of Natore

The extensive remains of a palace built by Rani Bhawani (1716-1795), a legendary name in Bengal politics in the 18th century and an endearing personality in every home of the country due to her boundless generosity and public spirit, is located on the north-eastern outskirts of Natore town.The palace complex occupies an area of 37.40 acres of land and is enclosed within two rings of defensive moats-one within the other.The moats are now dotted with large tanks,orchards and flower gardens surrounding the derelict ruins of the seven surviving detached palaces. Of these only four deserve description while the rest are in advanced stage of disintegration and are of no architectural significance.After the death of the great queen, her adopted son Ramkrishna ruled the area, and after his death in 1796, his two sons Sibnath and Vishwanath separated, and the whole Zamindari was divided between them, and the part of the eldest son was known as "Boro Taraf" and the part of the youngest son was known as "Chhoto Taraf".

Rajbari of Natore
Rajbari of Natore

The main palace block (Baro Taraf), now housing the newly created deputy commissioner's office, faces a large open lawn to the south. Two other single-storeyed blocks,placed on the west and the south,look over the lawn and are laid out in the form of an English"U" with the open side on the east. The main northern block, facing south,has a frontage of about 100'-0" with a prominently projecting porch in the middle and two slightly projecting bays at either end, all carrying triangular pediments above. The elegant central porch is supported on a series of Corinthian columns and semi-circular arches in the typical classical Roman style and the verandah in front of the apartments are also similarly relieved. The whole facade is tastefully decorated with geometric and floral panels in plasterwork. This block contains eleven spacious apartments,disposed on either side of the large reception hall which is located in the middle.The access to the reception hall (60'-0"x 30'-0") is gained through another large hall and is backed by a 10'-0" wide verandah on the north. The lofty ceiling of the central hall, rises to a height of 30'-0" and is lit by eighteen clerestory windows, originally fitted with coloured glass panes, whilst the roof of the other rooms are considerably lower in height. The entire floor of this block is laid in black and white imported marble. The back verandah is supported on twenty pairs of Corinthian columns,the capitals of which contain within its acanthus leaves, some classical nude female figures.The western block,placed at right angles to the main block,has about a 200'-0" frontage and faces the lawn on the east. It is also a single-storeyed building with an arched projecting bay in the middle.A strip of verandah,supported on a series of paired Doric columns, runs the entire length of the block.Entering through the arched central bay there is access into an open oblonged court,occupied by typical 'nat-mandap'. Beyond and further to the west, is a Krishna temple. This family shrine has a 50’-0” wide frontage, backed by a 10’-0” wide verandah which carried on a series of double Corinthian columns. This ‘nat-mandap’ has a humped tin roof supported on a series of iron pillars. Placed at right angles to this block is another north facing single-storeyed building, which is about 150’-0” long and has central projecting porch. The porch entrance leads on to a long verandah running the entire length of the building behind which there are a series of apartments of varying sizes, somewhat similarly disposed as the former. A long verandah to the rear of this building overlooks a large tank. A series of Corinthian columns, which support verandah, projects as a semi-circle in the middle. The rear of this handsome block is tastefully decorated in plasterwork. The building at present is occupied by the office of the superintendent of police.

Rajbari of Natore
Rajbari of Natore

To the south-west rears of the second block a couple of very ruined single-storeyed residential buildings overlook a large tank from its northern bank. The smaller of these two structures presenting a 50’-0” frontage with a verandah, is relieved with a series of paired Doric columns while the larger adjacent block has a 100’-0” frontage with a verandah carried on a row of double Corinthian columns. Sadly both these ruins are now thickly covered with encroaching thickets and accumulating debris. However, the main palace block of the ‘Chhota-Taraf’, perched picturesquely on the western bank of this large tank and now occupied by the District Judge’s Court, is an imposing structure. The 70’-0” long façade has a prominently projecting central triple-arched portico. The central part of the building, occupied by the reception hall projects above the flanking wings and is crowned by a pyramidal roof with clerestory windows. The parapet of the porch is decorated in plasterwork with two short projecting bays at either end of the building, each decorated with two pairs of Corinthian columns, which are topped by triangular pediments. Entering this palace block though the porch one encounters a long 10’-0” wide verandah with a black and white marble floor. Behind the verandah there is a row of apartments which lead on to the vast reception hall, measuring 60’-0”x25’-0”x30’-0”. The lofty ceiling of reception hall is another hall measuring 50’-0”x20’-0” with a projecting balcony at the far end which overlooks the encircling moat. Although there are fifteen apartments including the central hall. The rear of the building also is tastefully relieved with Ionic capitals, floral motifs and bearded human heads in stucco. The two large halls of the palace, probably flagged in marble, are now devoid of their original floor, but the other apartments have white and black marble floors. Curiously the capitals most of the columns are of composite character with acanthus leaves intertwining Ionic roundels.

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

Uttara Gano Bhaban

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore
Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

Uttara Gano Bhaban also known as The Maharaja's Palace or Dighapatia Palace (or Rajbari) is a historic, formerly royal palace in Natore, Bangladesh. It was built by the Raja of Dighapatia but is used as the official residence of the heads of states of Bangladesh in North Bengal. In the north, it serves as an official Presidential Palace. Various historic meetings took place at the palace, during the British Raj, East Pakistan era and finally after the independence of Bangladesh.

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore
Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

Originally used as the residence of the Rajas of Dighapatia, it is located about 2.40 km away from the Natore town. Raja Dayaram Roy constructed the main structure of the palace along with a few wings; but it was Raja Pramada Nath Roy rebuilt the whole palace complex after the catastrophic earthquake of 1897.
The Dighapatia Palace was made 'Dighapatia Governor House' on July 24, 1967 by Abdul Monem Khan, the Governor of erstwhile East Pakistan. Later, after the country's independence, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, President of Bangladesh declared the Dighapatia Governor House as Uttara Gonobhaban on February 9, 1972. Before the split of Pakistan and Bangladesh, President Ayub Khan resided at the Palace.

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore
Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

The palace area occupies around 43 acres of land or around 25 bighas, enclosed within a moat and a high perimeter wall. The estate also contains few lakes and greenery. The front gate entrance houses an imposing four-storied pyramidal gateway with a clock tower. It is also contains a series of arched openings on three storeys and two circlets flanking the clock on the top storey.
The 'E' shaped east facing facade is over a 100 ft long and has a prominently protruding porch in the center. In addition, two slightly projecting wings exist on both ends. The facade is decorated with floral designs in its plasterwork. A series of pointed trefoil arched openings provide access to the building across a running balcony in front. The parapet on the roof is decorated with merlons. The hemispherical dome with a sharp finial atop covers the central foyer.

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore
Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

The palace block houses nine sleeping chambers, a durbar hall, a dining hall and a danceroom. The ceiling of the durbar hall is over 25 feet from the floor and is much higher than the flanking apartments. The ceiling is decorated with painted floral motif in wood set in bays. Although the palace ground was plundered in various times in history, there are still some beautiful pieces of relics such as the neo-classical bronze Greek statues, flower vases, chandeliers, carved wooden bedstead and princely furniture. The main foyer also displays two armoured knights.

Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore
Uttara Gano Bhaban of Natore

The southern wing of the palace is similarly designed in the shape of an 'E'. There is a large garden in the front with a fountain and a few life-size marble female sculptures located at the four corner porticoes. A broad verandah in front leads to a large foyer and beyond, to a series of apartments. The roof of the verandah is carried on semi-Corinthian columns alternated by trefoil arches. A rear verandah on the western end of the block overlooks a part of the moat. The bathroom is made entirely of marble.
The 'Kumar Palace' (literally Prince's Palace) located to the southeast, close to the main palace compound is a two-storeyed building that houses four main bedrooms and a dressing room on the upper floor and a series of apartments on the ground floor. The small treasury hall stands directly behind the Kumar Palace. There also exists the single storeyed 'Rani Mahal' (Queen's Palace) to the south of the main palace block, originally occupied the vast fortified area of the palace. The guesthouse, stables, the servants' quarters etc. have all disappeared with time and at the aftermath of the earthquake of 1897.

Mosque Baba Adam of Bangladesh

Mosque Baba Adam

Mosque Baba Adam of Bangladesh
Mosque Baba Adam of Bangladesh

A slightly later date the elegant 6-domed mosque (13m x 11m) sq meters of Baba Adam in Rampal near Dhaka was erected by your Malik Kafur during the reign of the last Ilyas Shahi Sultan, Jalauddin Fateh Shah in 1483 AD. It displays the same characteristic features of the period such as the faceted octagonal turrets at 4 corners, the curved cornice. The one facade and 3 mihrabs relieved richly with beautiful terracotta floral and hanging patterns.

Mahasthangarh of Bangladesh

Mahasthangarh

Mahasthangarh of Bangladesh
Mahasthangarh of Bangladesh


Mahasthangarh is considered the oldest archaeological site of the county. It is located at a distance of 18 km north or Bogra town on the western bank of the Karatoa river. The spectacular site is an imposing landmark in the area. having a long fortified enclosure. Beyond the fortified area, other ancient ruins fan out within a semicircle of about 8 km radius. Several isolated mounds, the local names of which are  Govinda Bhita  Temple,  Khodia Pathar  Mound,  Mankalir Kunda ,  Parsuramer Bedi ,  Jiyat Kunda  etc. surround the fortified city. This 3rd century B.C. archaeological site is still held to be of great sanctity by the Hindus. Every year (mid-April) and once every 12 years (in December) thousands of Hindu devotees join the bathing ceremony on the bank of the Karatoa river.

Hussaini Dalan of Bangladesh

Hussaini Dalan

Hussaini Dalan of Bangladesh
Hussaini Dalan of Bangladesh
Hussaini Dalan a Shiite shrine in the old part of the city of DHAKA, attributed to the Mughal Period. It is a common practice among the Shia community to build edifices to commemorate the martyrdom of al-Husain, at the battle of Karbala in Iraq on the tenth day of Muharram 61 AH (10 October 680 AD). The building seems to have been originally erected by one Sayyid Murad during the governorship of SHAH SHUJA, who, although himself a Sunni, was eager to preserve and patronise Shiite institutions. Traditions relate that Sayyid Murad, having seen al-Husain in a vision erecting a tazia khana (house of mourning), was inspired to raise the building, which he named Hussaini Dalan. The original building may have been a small structure, expanded to its present form in later times. The EAST INDIA COMPANY repaired it in 1807 and 1810, and a portion of the building was reconstructed after the earthquake of 1897.

Paharpur of Bangladesh

Paharpur

Paharpur of Bangladesh
Paharpur of Bangladesh

Paharpur is treated as the Largest Buddhist Seat of Learning of South Asia. It is a small village, 5 km west of Jamalganj in the greater Rajshahi district, where the remains of the most important and the largest known monastery south of the Himalayas has been excavated. This 7th century AD archaeological find covers an area of approximately 11 hectare. The entire establishment, occupying a Quadrangular court, measures more than 300 meters and varies from 3.5 to 4.5 meters in height with an elaborate gateway complex on the north, there are 45 cells on the north and 44 in each of the other three sides, with a total number of 177 rooms.

Star Mosque of Bangladesh

Star Mosque

Star Mosque of Bangladesh
Star Mosque of Bangladesh

Star mosque, a 19th century establishment, is a very beautiful mosque of the city situated at Armanitola, in the old part of Dhaka City. In faultless Mughal style architecture, it is a five -dome mosque with hundreds of big and small twinkling stars as surface decorations. The stars have been created by setting pieces or chinaware on white cement. Seen from the front and from far it looks as if it were shining above the surface of the earth. The inside or the mosque is even more beautiful than the outside, with a lovely mosaic floor and excellent tiles with many floral patterns set on the walls, all in complete harmony.

Sonargaon of Bangladesh

Sonargaon

Sonargaon of Bangladesh
Sonargaon of Bangladesh

Sonargaon's importance in the pre-Muslim period is borne out by its ancient name of  Suvarnagrama (the golden village), from which it is obvious how the Muslim version of the name is derived,as well as by the existence of Langalbandh and Panchamighat, the two traditional under Ghiyasuddin Bahadur Shah, and after his fall it was the headquarters of the eastern province of Bengal under the Tughlaqs till 1338. Sonargaon emerged as the capital of an independent Sultanate under Fakhruddin Mubarak Shah (1338-1349). In the late nineteenth and early twentieth century Panam Nagar was developed in a part of holy bathing places of the Hindus, in this tract of land on the west bank of the old Brahmaputra. Sonargaon rose to be the seat of an independent ruler medieval Sonargaon.

Baitul Mukarram Mosque of Bangladesh

Baitul Mukarram Mosque

Baitul Mukarram Mosque of Bangladesh
Baitul Mukarram Mosque of Bangladesh

It is the National Mosque of Bangladesh. Its construction began on 1960, and has been going on in phases. Architect T Abdul Hussain Thariani was commissioned to design the mosque complex. The plan included shops, offices, libraries and parking areas within the complex. The design of the mosque reflects the architecture of the period as can be seen from the use of a white and almost cube-form for the main building. A Mosque without a dome over the roof of its main prayer hall must have been a unique experiment. The main building is eight storied and 33 meters high from the ground level. The area of the main prayer hall is 2464 SQ meters with a mezzanine floor of 171 SQ metres at the eastern side. Verandas surround the hall on three of its four sides. The  mihrab  of the hall is rectangular instead of semi-circular. The Baitul Mukarram mosque is modern in its architectural style. It has found its place in the hearts of the Muslims because of the resemblance of its form to the Holy Kaaba at Makkah.

Mainamati of Bnagladesh

Mainamati

Mainamati of Bnagladesh

It is called the Seat of Lost Dynasties. About 8 km to the west of Comilla town, situated 114 km southeast of Dhaka, lies a range of low hills known as the Mainamati-Lalmai ridge, which was an extensive centre of Buddhist culture. On the slopes or these hills lie scattered a treasure of information about the early Buddhist civilization (7th-12th Century AD.). At Salban in the middle or the ridge, excavations have laid bare a large Buddhist  Vihara  (monastery) with an imposing central shrine. It has revealed valuable information about the rule of the Chandra and Deva dynasties which Flourished here from the 7th to the 12th century AD. The whole range of hillocks runs for about 18 km and is studded with more than 50 sites. A site museum houses the archaeological finds which include terra cotta plaques, bronze statues and caskets, coins, jewellery, utensils, pottery and  votive stupas  embossed with Buddhist inscriptions.

Chhota Sona Masjid of Bangladesh

Chhota Sona Masjid

Chhota Sona Masjid of Bangladesh
Chhota Sona Masjid of Bangladesh
One of the most graceful monuments of the Sultanate period is the  Chhota Sona Masjid  or Small Golden Mosque at Gaur in Rajshahi. Built by one Wali Muhammad during the reign of Sultan Alauddin Husain Shah (1493-1519), it was originally roofed over with 15 gilded domes including the 3 ChauchaIqa domes in the middle row, from which it derives its curious name.

Shat Gombuj Mosque of Bangladesh

Shat Gombuj Mosque

Shat Gombuj Mosque of Bangladesh
Shat Gombuj Mosque of Bangladesh

Among the many surviving monuments of the Khan Jahan Ali style, undoubtedly the most magnificent and largest brick mosque in Bangladesh is the Shat Gombuj. It is situated in Bagerhat district. For outstanding architectural value. the World Heritage Committee of UNESCO inscribed Bagerhat in the World Heritage list and it got the status of the second World Heritage site in Bangladesh after Paharpur. Out of today's surviving mosques, the Shat Gombuj Mosque is the most magnificent and certainly the largest brick mosque surviving in Bangladesh. Its name, meaning '60 domes', is misleading as in reality, it is roofed over with 77 small domes supported by a forest of slender columns covering a large prayer hall and giving it the appearance of a medieval church crypt. At sunrise when the rays of the sun penetrate the eastern entrances, the interior comes to life. There is little adornment to this building other than the carved stone decoration to the central  mihrab  at the western end of the prayer hall. The exterior facades, with slightly 'battered' walls, have discernible curving cornices a concession to the local style.

National Parliament of Bnagladesh

National Parliament

National Parliament of Bnagladesh
National Parliament of Bnagladesh

It is one of the most majestic public buildings in Bangladesh. The National Parliament complex is located at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar of Dhaka city. The National Parliament Building is an architectural masterpiece for which the nation can be said to be justifiably proud.The decision to construct the National Parliament Complex at Dhaka was originally taken in 1959. Louis I Kahn. one of the greatest architects of the time was initially selected for designing the complex. which would include the National Parliament Building. Hostels for members of parliament. ministers and secretaries. hospitality halls and communally buildings.All linked by roads and walkways and surrounded by attractive gardens and lakes. The main characteristic of the building is its monumentally.The mass of concrete lined with marble strips, the outer wall punctuate by pure geometrical openings and the dominating circular and rectangular concrete masses impart a supreme monumentality to the building quite suited to its noble function.

National Museum of Bangladesh

National Museum

National Museum of Bangladesh
National Museum of Bangladesh

The National Museum was established at dhaka in AD 1913.It has been renamed as the National Museum and was shifted to its new building at Shahbag in 1983. It is a four storied building and has forty galleries under four departments, namely, Natural History, History and Classical Art, Ethnography and Decorative Art and Contemporary Art and world Civilization.

National Memorial of Bangladesh

National Memorial

National Memorial of Bangladesh
National Memorial of Bangladesh

The National Memorial at Savar is a symbol of the nation's respect for the martyrs of the war of Liberation. It is built with Concrete, but made of blood. IT stands 150 feet tall, but every martyr it stands for stands so much taller. It is an achievement the dimensions of which can be measured but it stands for an achievement which is immeasurable. It stands upright for the millions of martyrs who laid their lives so that we may stand upright, in honour and dignity, amongst the nations of the world. Most prominently visible is the 150 feet tower that stands on a base measuring 130 feet wide.

Lalbagh Fort of Bangladesh

Lalbagh Fort

Lalbagh Fort of Bangladesh
Lalbagh Fort of Bangladesh

Lalbagh Fort (also known as: Fort Aurangabad) is an incomplete Mughal palace fortress at the Buriganga River in the southwestern part of Dhaka, Bangladesh. Construction was commenced in 1678 by Prince Muhammad Azam during his 15-month long vice-royalty of Bengal, but before the work could complete, he was recalled by Aurangzeb. His successor, Shaista Khan, did not complete the work, though he stayed in Dhaka up to 1688. His daughter bibi pari (Lady Fairy) died here in 1684 and this led him to consider the fort to be ominous.

Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh

Ahsan Manzil

Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh
Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh

Ahsan Manzil  was the official residential palace and seat of the Dhaka Nawab Family. It is situated on the banks of the Buriganga River in Bangladesh. The palace is now a museum.

Tajhat Rajbari of Bangladesh

Tajhat Rajbari

Tajhat Rajbari of Bangladesh
Tajhat Rajbari of Bangladesh

Tajhat is a historical place of Bangladesh, located near Lalbagh, Rangpur. It has a nice Jamidarbari (Palace) which in 2005 was turned into a museum. This museum is about 10 mins drive from Rangpur town, near Lalbagh. The Museum was inaugurated on March 20, 2005, by the Government of Bangladesh Minister for Cultural Affairs, Begum Selima Rahman and Secretary Mr. Mahmudul Masud. Dr. Alain Labrique of the Johns Hopkins University also made some invited remarks. The palace in Tajhat, commonly known as Tajhat Rajbari was built by Maharaja Kumar Gopal Lal Roy in the beginning of the 20th century. He was a descendent of a Hindu khatari who emigrated from Punjab. He was a jeweler by profession. It is believed that from the conspicuous appearance of his Taj or jeweledcrown his estate derived the name of Tajhat. From the name of his estate, the area is known as Tajhat.

Shaheed Minar of Bangladesh

Shahid Minar

Shaheed Minar of Bangladesh
Shaheed Minar of Bangladesh


The Shaheed Minar is a national monument in Dhaka, Bangladesh, established to commemorate those killed during the Language Movement demonstrations of 1952.On February 21, 1952, dozens of students and political activists were killed when the Pakistani police force opened fire on Bengali protesters who were demanding equal status to their native tongue, Bangla. The massacre occurred near Dhaka Medical College and Ramna Park in Dhaka. A makeshift monument was erected on February 23 by students of University of Dhaka and other educational institutions, but soon demolished on February 26 by the Pakistani police force.The Language Movement gained momentum and after a long struggle, Bangla was given equal status as Urdu. To commemorate the dead, the Shaheed Minar was designed and built by Hamidur Rahman, a Bangladeshi sculptor. The monument stood until the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971, when it was demolished completely during Operation Searchlight. After Bangladesh gained independence, it was rebuilt .Today, the Shaheed Minar is the centre of cultural activities in Dhaka. Every year, the Language Movement is remembered at the monument.
 
Copyright © 2013. Heritage of Bangladesh