Heritage Article:
Recent Heritage Article
Showing posts with label Architecture of Bangladesh. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Architecture of Bangladesh. Show all posts

Northbrook Hall of Bangladesh

                          Northbrook Hall

Northbrook Hall of Bangladesh
Northbrook Hall

The town hall was later converted into a public library, to which a clubhouse was added and called Johnson Hall. The building, however, has lost its attraction now because of the new structures, such as assembly halls and community centres that have been built on the same premises and surround it from all sides. The premises of the hall now offer facilities for social and cultural gatherings. The library on the premises is a major reading centre for the people of old Dhaka.
Northbrooke Hall, an elegant building popularly known as ‘Lalkuthi’ for its deep red colour, is situated at Farashganj, Dhaka on the north bank of the Buriganga River. It was originally built in late 19th century as a Town Hall and named after Lord Northbrooke, Viceroy of India (1872-1876). His administration was marked by agrarian unrest in Bengal.
Northbrooke Hall combines elements of Mughal architecture blended with architectural styles of the European Renaissance. The building's semi-circular horseshoe arches containing entrances on the north, the four octagonal minars with pinnacles and the ornamental parapet demonstrate the Muslim features. The deep red colour of the grand monument with its graded roofs, pinnacles and parapets presents a magnificent view from the riverfront.


Lalbagh Fort of Bangladesh

Lalbagh Fort
Lalbagh Fort of Bangladesh
Lalbagh Fort
Lalbagh Fort is an incomplete Mughal palace fortress at the Buriganga River in the southwestern part of Dhaka, Bangladesh. Construction was commenced in 1678 by Prince Muhammad Azam during his 15-month long vice-royalty of Bengal. He was the son of Emperor Aurangzeb. But, before the Construction could be completed, he was recalled by Emperor Aurangzeb. The Construction was continued by his successor, Shaista Khan. But upon the death of his beloved daughter Iran Dukht nick named Pari Bibi in 1684, he did not complete the work, though he stayed in Dhaka up to 1688. Thus, this led him to consider the fort to be ominous.
In the present fort area of 18 acres (73,000 m²), excavations have revealed the remains of a further 26 structures, with elaborate arrangements for water supply, sewerage, roof gardens, and fountains. The fort is also home to some of the outstanding structures that stand out for its architectural splendor. Some of the monuments that accentuate the beauty of the place are the three-domed mosque, the Tomb of Pari Bibi, and the Diwan-i-Aam, the Hummam Khana (bathing place), gateways and fortification wall. Renovation work by the Archaeology Department has now put Lalbagh Fort in a much-improved shape, and it has now become an interesting spot for tourists and visitors.
Construction of the Lalbagh Fort began in 1678 under the direction of Prince Muhammad Azam, the son of Emperor Aurangzeb, during the time that he held the position of vice-royalty of Bengal. However, before the construction could be completed, he was recalled by his father. The work was continued by his successor, Shaista Khan, but upon the death of his beloved daughter Bibi Pari, who had been betrothed to Prince Azam, he halted the project and it remained incomplete.
It was originally thought that Lalbagh Fort consisted of the three-domed mosque, the tomb of Bibi Pari, and the Diwan-i-Aam, consisting of two gateways and fortification wall. However excavations of the area around the fort, which were carried out by the Department of Archaeology of Bangladesh, uncovered the remains of a further 26 structures with intricate water supply and sewerage systems, roof gardens and fountains.
Of the three surviving fort gateways, the southern gateway is the most impressive, reaching the height of a three-story building. The southern fortification wall that runs westward from the imposing southern gateway stretches up to an enormous bastion located in the southwestern corner of the fort. From there it extends northward for a short distance before fading away. Within the fort walls to the north are stables and what may have been an administrative block, while to the west is a beautifully designed roof garden, complete with a water reservoir and fittings for fountains. Southwest of the three-domed mosque, are the remains of the residential area of Lalbagh Fort.
Other notable structures are the hammam of Nawab Shaista Khan and his reception rooms, which now serve as a museum. The museum displays numerous items retrieved during the excavations, some of which have led experts to believe that, although the Mughals founded Dhaka, the area was inhabited long before. Certainly, the Lalbagh Fort is worth adding to your list of places to see when visiting the intriguing country of Bangladesh.

Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban of Bangladesh

Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban

Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban of Bangladesh
Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban

Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban, the National Parliament Building is the Jatiyo Sangshad or National Assembly of Bangladesh, located at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar in the Bangladeshi capital of Dhaka. Designed by architect Louis Kahn, the complex, which accommodates all Bangladesh's seven parliaments, is one of the largest legislative complexes in the world, comprising 200 acres (800,000 m²)
The building was featured prominently in the 2003 film My Architect, detailing the career and familial legacy of its architect, Louis Kahn. Robert McCarter, author of Louis I. Kahn, described the National Parliament of Bangladesh as one of the twentieth century's most significant buildings.
Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban, including the residences for the members of parliament and layout of the lawns and lake, was created by gifted American architect Louis I. Khan. Construction was started by the Government of Pakistan in 1961 and the building was earmarked for the federal legislature of East and West Pakistan. However, after its completion on 28 January 1982, Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban was used for the first time on 15th February 1982 as the venue for the eighth, and last, session of the second parliament of Bangladesh. Since then, this impressive complex has been used for the Bangladesh National Assembly.

Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban of Bangladesh
Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban

The architect’s key design philosophy was to represent Bangladeshi culture and heritage, while at the same time optimizing the use of space. The exterior of the building is striking in its simplicity, with huge walls deeply recessed by porticoes and large openings of regular geometric shapes. The main building, which is at the center of the complex, is divided into three parts – the Main Plaza, South Plaza and Presidential Plaza. An artificial lake surrounds three sides of the main building of Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban, extending to the Members of Parliament hostel complex. This skillful use of water to portray the riverine beauty of Bangladesh adds to the aesthetic value of the site.
The Parliament Chamber, which can seat up to 354 members during parliamentary sessions, forms the key part of the Main Plaza. The Parliament Chamber has been designed to make optimal use of natural daylight, which is reflected from the surrounding walls and octagonal drum into the chamber. This natural light is complemented with an efficient, but subtle, use of artificial lighting. The Main Plaza also contains a library, Member of Parliament lounges and conference rooms.
The entrance to the Main Building and the Main Building itself is limited to authorized staff and Members of Parliament. The rest of the Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban complex is open to visitors. To the north of the complex, visitors will find the beautiful Crescent Lake and Zia Uddan (Moonlight Park). This is a popular leisure area in Dhaka, with joggers and skaters enjoying the pathways through the gardens.
Visitors to the bustling capital city of Bangladesh should make a point of visiting Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban, an architectural marvel set in tranquil surroundings.


Curzon Hall of Bangladesh

Curzon Hall
Curzon Hall of Bangladesh
Curzon Hall
Curzon Hall is part of the school of science of the University of Dhaka.With its significance in education during the post independence era of Bangladesh as well as afterwards, it has become an emblem of educational tradition of the country.
Curzon Hall was built by Lord Curzon, Viceroy of India in 1904. During the Language Movement, Curzon Hall was the location of various significant events. In 1948, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, the general of the Pakistan military, declared Urdu and Urdu shall be the state language of Pakistan, outlawing the teaching of Bengali. Students of Dhaka University opposed it instantly and in Curzon Hall, they declared their opposition to Jinnah's planned about state language policy.
This magnificent double-storied building in red bricks with a blend of continental and Mughal architecture with cusped arches and kiosk-like turrets, was built in 1904 as a Town Hall for the newly created province of East Bengal and Assam. A year later, Bengal was partitioned and Dhaka became the capital of the newly created province. The initiative and action of Lord Curzon, the then-Viceroy of India to divide Bengal into two states, led to fostering Muslim hopes of a permanent Muslim state that ultimately led to the formation of Bangladesh many years later. Lord Curzon laid the foundation of the building named after him on 14 February 1904. Since the new province had a majority Muslim population, the partition was welcomed by Muslims, but it was fiercely resented by Indian nationalist leaders. He was eventually forced out of office in 1905 but not before the building had started to take its shape. Curzon Hall was completed in 1908 but the partition of Bengal was annulled in 1911-12. Laid out in a spacious and carefully maintained garden in the heart of Ramna, this brick building has a large central hall, lateral wings on the east and west with several rooms, and a continuous verandah on all sides.

Some one impressed by its splendor once said:
“Where once did owl did hoot
The jackal yell,
In thickets dwarf and tall
There stands to-day, in state
A sentinel
The splendid Curzon Hall..”
The Viceroy of India, Lord Curzon, had a vision - wanted to create a spectacular town hall for the city. In the year 1904 the foundation for this breathtaking building was laid, but due to the partitioning of Bengal, the Curzon Hall became Dhaka College in 1911. It took up its position as part of the science division of the Dhaka University in 1921. The hall was also the scene of the student uprising against the language policy that Mohammed Ali Jinnah tried to impose.
When examining the structure of the Curzon Hall, it is easy to see why most believe it is one of the prime examples of architecture in the city. It is a unique combination of Mughal and European designing styles and the traditional artistry of the time was made to blend exquisitely with the modern features. Visitors to Curzon Hall will therefore be able to view magnificent domes, stunning horse-show arches and cusped arches. The red coloring of the building is extremely unique considering that red sandstone was not used. It also features beautiful pavilions and breathtaking eaves.
Surrounding the Curzon Hall is a number of buildings that should also be expolored, such as the Old High Court, The Mausoleum of Three Leaders, the Shaheedullah Hall and the Dhaka Gate. All these structures are reminders to the development of the city and are as important to the locals of Dhaka today, as they were when they were constructed. As an architectural wonder and home to science, the Curzon Hall is an unforgettable attraction.

Bara Katra of Bangladesh

Bara Katra


Bara Katra of Bangladesh
Bara Katra

Bara Katra is a historical and architectural monument located in the city of Dhaka, Bangladesh. It is a palatial building dating to the reign of the Mughal dynasty in the Bengal region. It is situated to the south of Chowk Bazaar close to the north bank of the river Buriganga.
Bara Katra is one of Dhaka's oldest buildings, built in 1644 by Mir Abdul Qasem. It was originally an enclosed quadrangle on the Buri Ganga, with a marvellous entrance/gate with four wings and 22 rooms. The remains include the entrance and the tower. In a sad an delapidated state, one needs to use one's imagination to visualize the grandeur that this place must have held.



Back side of the edifice:
Bara Katra of Bangladesh
Bara Katra

A tall alcove rising to the second storey reduces the mass of this projection. The wall surface is relieved with panels that are square as well as rectangular and that contain a variety of decorations of four-centred, cusped, horseshoe and flat arches. Above the apex of the alcove open the windows of the third storey.
Bara Katra an architectural relic of Dhaka city.
Under the alcove is the main arched entrance which leads to the guardroom. Furthermore, as one passes through two successive archways, one comes across an octagonal domed hall, the ceiling of which is plastered and bears various net-patterns and foliaged designs. The double storeyed structure resolves on both sides of the central entrance into a row of five vaulted rooms in the ground floor and living rooms with a continuous corridor on the upper one.
Likewise, the upper floors of the entrance are furnished with rooms. The three storyed corner towers are hollow and can be approached from the subsidiary structures.
Following the traditional pattern of the caravan-sarai of Central Asia, the Bara Katra was highly fortified and was embellished with all the features of the imperial Mughal style.
The Bara Katra contains two inscriptions in Persian: one records that it was built in 1053 AH (1643-44 AD) and the other contains the date 1055 AH (1645-46 AD) and confirms that shah shuja gave the building to Mir Abul Qasim to be used as a Katra on the condition that the officials in charge of the endowments (waqf) should not take any rent from any deserving person alighting therein.
It should be noted here that more than half of the Katra building has already been destroyed and the building as a whole is in a dilapidated condition. It could not be taken over by the Department of Archaeology owing to the resistance of its owners. The owners have made several alterations to the original character of the building and have also started construction of a new multi-storeyed building in the area. Nevertheless, the surviving ruins stand as one of the most important monuments of Bengal. It is perhaps the most magnificent Mughal edifice of Bangladesh which has a monumental central archway.










Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh

Ahsan Manzil


Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh
Ahsan Manzil

Ahsan Manzil


Native name:Front View of Ahsan Manzil
Built: 1859 - 1872
Architectural style(s): Indo-Saracenic Revival architecture
Visitation: More than 3 million (2003)


Ahsan Manzil was the official built-up palace and seat of the Dhaka Nawab Family. It is positioned on the banks of the Buriganga River in Bangladesh. The palace became the Bangladesh National Museum on 20 September 1992. It is constructed in the Indo-Saracenic Revival building.

Contents
* 1 History
o 1.1 Early History Of Pad
o 1.2 Construction
o 1.3 Glory days
o 1.4 Decline

Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh
Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh

o 1.5 Renovation
* 2 Description
* 3 References
* 4 Further reading
* 5 See also

Construction
The construction of the palace was begun in 1859 and accomplished in 1872. Abdul Ghani named it Ahsan Manzil after his son Nawab Khwaja Ahsanullah. The newly built palace first came to be known as the Rang Mahal. On April 7, 1888, a tornado caused severe damage to Ahsan Manzil -- Andar Mahal, the older part of the palace, was completely overcome. During the rebuilding of the Andar Mahal a good part of the palace was overhauled and repaired, along with the exquisite dome of the present Rang Mahal was added. Ahsan Manzil was again damaged by an earthquake in 12 June 1897 and again repaired by the Nawab Ahsanullah.

Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh
Ahsan Manzil
In 1874, Lord Northbrook, Governor General of India attended an evening function in the palace when he came to lay the foundation of a water works installed by Nawab Abdul Ghani. In 1888, Lord Dufferin also accepted the hospitality offered at Ahsan Manzil. In 1904 Lord Curzon, on a visit to East Bengal, stayed in this palace on 18 and 19 February to win public support for the proposed Partition of Bengal. 

Almost all political activities of Nawab Khwaja Salimullah centred around this palace. Ahsan Manzil was the cradle of the All India Muslim League. With the refuse of the Nawabs of Dhaka, Ahsan Manzil also started to reject.




When in 1952 the Dhaka Nawab State was acquired under the East Bengal Estate attainment Act, it became impossible for the successors of the Nawabs to continue the palace due to financial constraints. Nawab Khwaja Habibullah started living at Paribag Green House soon after the acquisition of the zamindari. The palace was soon on the verge of collapse as successors rented out rooms without allowing for its dignity. Over the years illegal occupants turned the place into a filthy slum. 

Recognizing the historical and architectural importance of the Ahsan Manzil, the government of Bangladesh took the proposal to renovate it. In 1985 Ahsan Manzil with its surroundings were acquire. After the completion of the repair work in 1992 under the supervision of the Directorate of Public Works and Architecture, it was brought under the control of Bangladesh National Museum (20 September 1992). A museum has been traditional there.

Description

Ahsan Manzil has now been converted into a museum and a popular tourist magnetism of old Dhaka.
Ahsan Manzil of Bangladesh
Ahsan Manzil 
Ahsan Manzil is one of the most significant architectural monuments of Bangladesh. Established on a raised platform of 1 metre, the two-storied palace measures 125.4 m by 28.75 m. The height of the ground floor is 5 metres and that of the first floor 5.8 metres. There are porticos the height of the ground floor, both on the northern and southern sides of the palace. An open spacious stairway comes down from the southern portico, extending onto the bank of the river through the front garden. There was once a fountain in the garden in front of the stairs, that does not exist today. The spacious north and south verandas of both the floors rest on semicircular arches. The verandas and rooms are covered with marble.

To construct the dome of Ahsan Manzil, the square room on the soil floor was given a surrounding shape with brickwork in the corners. The room was then given an octagonal shape near the roof by squinches. This octagonal shape took the form of the drum of the dome. Finally, the kumud kali (buds of lotus) shaped dome was constructed by regularly slanting the eight corners to the peak. The dome is 27.13 m above the ground.

 
Copyright © 2013. Heritage of Bangladesh